Lemonade Stand, 9th Anniversary, and a Trip to the Mall

Someone like me with a VERY poor memory should not get behind on blog posts. Seriously, I am Dory from Finding Nemo. Scary. I am catching up on the last week of July.

We did our normal Monday routine: Gymboree, Top Golf, lunch, grocery shopping. Things were going oh-so-lovely till I locked my keys in the van in the Whole Foods parking lot. My husband was super nice to come and rescue me, even though it was crazy hot and he has no A/C in his truck. I couldn’t even do my shopping while we waited because I also locked my grocery list in the car. Since I’m Dory, there is no way I was going to remember my list. We feasted on the complimentary kids’ fruit and found a shady spot while we waited for Brian. I hate it when I do stuff like that!
WFsBrian and I celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary on July 29. Surely we did something amazing and very romantic.
9 anniversary
On Thursday, we met up with some sweet friends at the mall. My good friend, Leslie, is a fellow autism mama. She has a son that’s Camden’s age. Her daughter is a year younger than Carson, and they are pals. It’s so nice to have a great friend in a similar situation! Here’s a glimpse of their cuteness:CarsonPeytonMall
We switched up our routine a bit on Friday. Typically, the boys chill Friday morning while I do laundry. Then we do an early lunch, and head out for a water activity. I decided that I wanted to get Camden’s 7-year-old pictures made. Since waiting can be hard for Camden, I made sure to be first on the schedule with Picture People. Camden was a bit uneasy on the way to the mall. He hadn’t been to a mall in probably three years. The photographer was super sweet and patient. She tried to get Camden to do various poses, but it was tricky. All we needed was one pretty good picture. We actually got two. Woohoo!!
Camden 7YOAfter wrapping up the photos, Carson showed Camden the ropes at the mall. The quality of this picture is no bueno, but it’s super exciting to me! Camden struggles with gravitational insecurity where he doesn’t like the feeling of being unsteady like on an elevator, escalator or airplane. After his pictures, he saw the escalator and asked to go up it. I was totally surprised that he was requesting it completely on his own. We got to the escalator and he wanted me to hold him. I typically will pick him up in stressful situations, such as when we are at the airport and he’s already struggling with anxiety. But in this instance he was requesting so I told him if we were going on the escalator, he’d have to stand on his own. And he did!! You can see by the picture that he looks a little apprehensive, but we went up and down several times. Hurrah! Proud of that kid!
Camden EscalatorMy boys aren’t typically community play area kids. The crowds and the noise are a bit much. Never crossed my mind that Camden would want to check out the play area, but he did. He digs trains, so enjoyed following the tracks around.
Stonebriar Play AreaWe stopped at Build-A-Bear to wash some pets. Pretend play is a struggle, so I had to smile seeing Camden bathe the stuffed dog. Next stop was the Lego store…little brother’s fave.
Build A Bear and Lego StoreWe did a few laps on the carousel.
Stonebriar CarouselI was surprised by how much Camden enjoyed the mall. (*Hard not to feel like I’m 13, when I continue to refer to “the mall”.) Glad it was a good experience. After that we headed to meet up with my good friend and fellow autism mama, Lea, and her son. I typically take the boys to a community pool on Fridays, but since I wasn’t sure how the mall and picture-taking would go, I kept things simple. Lea has a neighborhood pool and she was super sweet to let us swim with them. We had a blast! Apparently, most of my pictures were horrible, but here’s one of Camden doing what he loves to do in the pool…float.
Camden FloatsThere’s a local non-profit organization called Especially Needed that puts on community events for special needs families. They do fall carnivals, pictures with Santa, Easter egg hunts, and such. They did a garage sale fundraiser in a church’s parking lot. We love and appreciate what Especially Needed does for families, and it gave us a chance to sell some of our Counting on Hope tees and some stuff we no longer needed. Carson has talked often about wanting to set up a lemonade stand, so I asked if he’d want to come along. He was pumped! I explained that we were going to wake up early, that it was going to be really hot, and that we were going to be there for six hours. He still insisted on coming. We got his lemonade all ready and brought his little cash register, and let me tell you something…the boy was so stinkin’ cute!!! My adorable friend and fellow autism mom, Heather, shared a spot with us. Made it even more fun to have a sweet friend, a cute kid, and Little Dog to pass the time. Carson purchased two monster trucks with his earnings.
Especially Needed Garage SaleThat evening, Brian helped the boys put together their Home Depot chalkboard project. They were both pretty excited about it.
Home Depot ChalkboardSo fun to remember these days and to goosh over their cuteness. And to be mindful of how far we’ve come.

4 thoughts on “Lemonade Stand, 9th Anniversary, and a Trip to the Mall

  1. Kelsey Schwartz August 20, 2015 / 8:51 pm

    Happy Anniversary!!

    So exciting about the mall! Looks like you guys had a fun time there!

    • Candace August 20, 2015 / 9:58 pm

      Thanks so much! Yep, I was so glad that the mall (I feel 14, every time I refer to “the mall”) was much better than expected. =)

  2. Beka August 20, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    Awesome post! Love seeing all you guys do!

    • Candace August 20, 2015 / 9:58 pm

      Thanks, girlie! You are sweet to read. =)

Leave a Reply

