Summer: Week Three

Our third week of summer break was wonderful! My little dude had Vacation Bible School at our church. He was uneasy about going, but had a blast. Camden had his normal ABA therapy routine. He’s making great progress on his goals!

The weather was nice enough on Monday for a bike ride. Camden is still loving his adaptive bike that was gifted to him by the Grapevine AMBUCS club. Please excuse the lovely trashcan pictured below.Family Bike Rides
After I picked Carson up from VBS on Wednesday, we had lunch in our local downtown area. He’s a ton of fun to hang out with. We had a gift card to Mellow Mushroom, so we did take-out and just sat outside to feast and people-watch. On the way back to our car, we ran into the horse police (as we refer to them). So fun! =)Downtown McKinney with Carson
On Thursday, we headed out of town to see my husband’s side of the family in Pennsylvania. Camden is not a fan of flying, so that part is a bit stressful for him. Once the plane is in the air for about 20-30 minutes, he relaxes substantially. Being able to keep electronic devices out during take-off and landing has made a world of difference. My little guy absolutely loves the entire airport/flying experience. He’s growing up and is super helpful pulling the suitcase along. We were all relieved to touch down and reunite with Grandmom. This is a rockin’ vacation for me for numerous reasons: great in-laws, pretty scenery, hubby is off work, my sister-in-law has an AMAZING gift of hospitality, gobs of fun for my boys, busting out of our routine, new adventures, lots of laughs and good talks.
PA FlightThe day after our arrival we headed to Gettysburg for ice cream and some time at Devil’s Den. My great-great grandfather fought and died in the battle there.Devil's Den Summer 2015
Carson gets a kick out of catching lightning bugs, so he set a new record that night. Camden pulled out the Big Wheel and made several runs down the hill. He digs it.Bugs and Big Wheel
The following day we reunited with Brian’s brother’s family: Big Wheels runs,  lightening bugs, horseshoe pitching, treats, oh my! Camden’s cousin, Grace, was SUCH a trooper helping him ride up and down and up and down and up and down the hill on the Big Wheel. She’s such a sweetheart! Actually, all the cousins are! They help Camden, include him, encourage him, and try to engage him.Playtime in PA 2015
My brother-in-law is the pastor at a church in PA, so we went there on Sunday. Carson goes back with the kids and Camden stayed with us. He loves music so I figured he’d be fine. When I walked in after dropping Carson off in the kids’ area, I was looking for Camden. Brian pointed up front. He was front and center on the floor with his cousin dancing to the music. It was really sweet and so nice to have the freedom to do that without anyone seeming at all bothered by it. We went out to lunch after church for some yummy bbq. Good for my heart to see Carson laughing and having so much fun with his family. We did lots of playing in the backyard: swinging, wiffle ball, rides down the hill on the Big Wheels, bubbles, etc. Found myself stopping several times to look around at it all and take it in. This precious time with the family.Church Lunch Play PA 2015
Camden always likes to peek in on the neighbor’s animals, so he and I went to say “howdy.” So pretty! I grew up in West Texas, so I’m still in awe that people live around big beautiful trees like these.Country Boy PA 2015
We returned home yesterday. Still catching up around the house and getting back into the groove. I hope to share about the rest of our trip in a couple of days. It was a wonderful vacation and I want to document it to remember down the road.

5 thoughts on “Summer: Week Three

  1. Kelsey Schwartz July 9, 2015 / 8:07 pm

    Loved reading about the first part of your trip! I’ll have to visit your brother-in-law’s church sometime!

    • Candace July 9, 2015 / 9:08 pm

      Thanks, Kelsey! Fun to look through the pictures and relive it. =) Stay tuned…you’ll never guess what happens next. 😉

  2. Beka July 10, 2015 / 6:40 am

    I love how you savor these good times. A good reminder to us all on cherishing those blessings! What a great summer you’re having! You confirm to me what I already knew about us… we’re so boring!

    • Candace July 10, 2015 / 8:33 pm

      Beka, I do try to soak in the sweet moments and bundle up the memories to cherish in my heart. If I share and remember enough good, perhaps I’ll have amnesia over all the CrAzY times. =) Friend, you and I are in VERY different seasons of life. I have so much respect for how you choose to spend your time. Keeping the main things the main thing. Keep it up!

      • Beka July 11, 2015 / 3:17 pm

        LOVE that… I do try to soak in the sweet moments and bundle up the memories to cherish in my heart. If I share and remember enough good, perhaps I’ll have amnesia over all the CrAzY times.”

Leave a Reply

