What Wood a Teacher Like for Christmas?

Any of you struggle with Christmas gifts for your kiddo’s education/support team? I do. Between the principal, lead teacher, 2 paraprofessionals, speech therapist, GenEd teacher, Music Therapist, Adaptive PE teacher, Occupational Therapist, etc. it can be challenging to think of a cost effective gift that is kind of special. I used to think and think about the perfect gift, because how in the world do you find a gift that says “thank you” for loving and protecting my kid when he is away from me…and thank you for helping him grow? You just can’t.Β  Once I realized that it’s impossible to find a gift that is adequateΒ to express that kind of appreciation, I chilled and don’t stress over it.Β  Personally, my love language is words of affirmation, so I try to let the people that care for Camden know how much I value them.

I have had my hubby utilize his wood-working skills for making teacher gifts. The first year he did the Holy Family. I love how sweet and gentle they look.

Holy Family
Last year, he made puzzle piece ornaments. I love the soft blue color with the simple red ribbon. He distressed it a bit. I wanted a little something extra so we added the red heart. I like the idea, but next time we’d do a wooden heart instead to keep with the softer distressed wood look.
Puzzle Piece Ornament
This year he made snowmen out of old fence posts. I was intending to use puzzle piece fabric for the scarves, but we liked the simple green and white pattern better. I think he did a great job!

Snowman

If you have any gift ideas that have gone over well, I’d love to hear them! We’ve done coffee mugs and gift cards and such. And of course, you can’t go wrong with an autism shirt, eh? =) Counting on Hope Etsy Shop

Hoping you have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “What Wood a Teacher Like for Christmas?

  1. Katie December 23, 2014 / 10:25 am

    Love all these gifts!! Especially the holy family and the puzzle pieces! You should sell those!!! πŸ™‚ have a wonderful Christmas!!

    • Candace December 23, 2014 / 12:53 pm

      Thanks for saying that, Katie!! I will pass along the sweet encouragement to my hubby. I tell him the same thing. πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy Christmas!! Have a blast being off work!!

Leave a Reply

